More

    Where does our data go after we die? Here is the Gmail self-destruct button!

    Have you thought about where our decades of data go after we die? Here is the secret Gmail self-destruct button…

    Many things, including the posts we make on social media, the e-mails we send, and the data we store in the cloud, remain there even if we die. Of course, some platforms such as Facebook can turn people’s accounts into memorial pages after they pass away. A similar one is provided by the self-destruct button offered by Gmail. So how is this feature used?

    How does the Gmail self-destruct button work?
    It is a very nice feature that our accounts on platforms such as Instagram and Facebook return to a memorial page open to friends after we die. However, it is not possible to do something similar for the e-mail system.

    But Google is not entirely unprepared for it. Because, thanks to the self-destruct button feature, which is among the features of Gmail, if you do not log in to your account for a long time, it can close the account by deleting all your data for you.

    Of course, you can automatically set this up not only for death, but also for any additional accounts you have stopped using or will quit using. For example, if you do not enter any of your accounts within 3 months, 6 months, 12 months and 18 months, you can have it automatically delete all data.

    For this, you can go to the Inactive Account Manager page from the settings section and activate it by selecting a period of 3 to 18 months, as we mentioned above. If you want to change this decision later, Google will send you a warning message on your 2nd e-mail address and phone, 1 month before the account is deleted.

    In addition, at the end of this period, Google will allow you to choose up to ten people that you can inform when your account is inactive, to authorize someone to delete your account, and to choose an automatic message to be sent to people who try to email you when the account is closed, and share a certain part of your data with those you choose. .

    Latest articles

    Related articles

    Leave a reply

    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here